State Foresters and Forest Service Join CWSF/WFLC Leadership


The Council of Western State Foresters (CWSF) and Western Forestry Leadership Coalition (WFLC) announced the 2020 – 2021 leadership roster.

The CWSF Executive Committee includes Chair Sonya Germann (MT), Incoming Chair Tom Claeys (ND), Secretary/Treasurer Peter Daugherty (OR), and Immediate Past Chair Brian Cottam (UT). 

The WFLC Executive Board includes USDA Forest Service Co-Lead David Schmid (USDA Forest Service Region 10), Incoming Co-Lead Glenn Casamassa (USDA Forest Service Region 6), Research Station Director Member Monica Lear (USDA Forest Service Rocky Mountain Research Station), and State and Private Forestry (S&PF) Director Member Cliff Dils (USDA Forest Service Region 3). The WFLC Executive Board also includes the members of the CWSF Executive Committee.

“The CWSF Executive Committee and WFLC Executive Board play a critical role in leading discussion and action on a range of forestry and wildland fire issues in the west,” said Sonya Germann. “I look forward to serving as CWSF Chair and WFLC Co-Lead in support of this important work.”

Outgoing Executive Committee and Executive Board members include Mike Lester (CO), Kacey KC (NV), and Leanne Marten (USDA Forest Service Region 1).  

“Leaders from the USDA Forest Service and state forestry agencies are committed to working together at a time when issues in the forestry sector are front and center,” said David Schmid. “It is an honor to serve alongside my peers in this capacity.”

The CWSF Executive Committee and WFLC Executive Board participate in regularly scheduled meetings and help to guide the organizational and programmatic work of the staff. CWSF and WFLC Executive Director, Laura Schweitzer, serves as an Ex-officio Member to both the CWSF Executive Committee and WFLC Executive Board.

To learn more about the Council of Western State Foresters, please visit To learn more about the Western Forestry Leadership Coalition, please visit