WFLC Executive Board

WFLC Executive Board

The Western Forestry Leadership Coalition (WFLC) operates under the leadership of an Executive Board, which represents the views and interests of the WFLC members and provides a direct link between WFLC members and staff.

Executive Board meetings are held quarterly either in person or via conference call to make decisions, set strategic direction, and discuss concerns and opportunities.

The Executive Board is made up of eight WFLC members, including the four person Council of Western State Foresters Executive Committee, two USDA Forest Service Regional Foresters, one Forest Service State & Private Forestry Director, and one western Forest Service Research Station Director.

Council of Western State Foresters

Chair

Jason Hartman

Kansas Forest Service
State Forester

2610 Claflin Road
Manhattan, KS 66502
Phone: 785-532-3309
Email: hartmanj@ksu.edu
Website: www.kansasforests.org 

Incoming Chair

David Smith

Hawai‘i Dept. of Land and Natural Resources
Forestry and Wildlife Administrator

1151 Punchbowl Street, Room 325
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: 808-587-0166
Fax: 808-587-0160
Email: david.g.smith@hawaii.gov 
Website: www.dofaw.net

Treasurer

John Erixson

Nebraska Forest Service
Director

102E Forestry Hall
Lincoln, NE 68583-0815
Phone: 402-472-6601
Fax: 402-472-2964
Email: jerixson2@unl.edu
Website: www.nfs.unl.edu

Past Chair

Tom Claeys

North Dakota Forest Service
State Forester

916 E Interstate Ave, Ste #4
Bismarck, ND 58503-1227
Phone: 701-328-9945
Fax: 701-328-9947
Email: thomas.claeys@ndsu.edu
Website: www.ndsu.edu/ndfs

Ex-officio member

Laura Schweitzer

Executive Director
Council of Western State Foresters/Western Forestry Leadership Coalition 

2255 Sheridan Blvd, Suite C-327
Edgewater, CO 80214
Phone: 303-893-0365 
Email: lschweitzer@westernforesters.org

USDA Forest Service

Co-Lead

Frank Beum

USDA Forest Service Rocky Mountain Region
Regional Forester

1617 Cole Blvd. Building 17
Lakewood, CO 80401
Phone: 303-275-5350
Email: frank.beum@usda.gov
Website: www.fs.usda.gov/r2

Incoming Co-Lead

Mary Farnsworth

USDA Forest Service Intermountain Region
Regional Forester

324 25th Street
Ogden, UT 84401
Phone: 801-625-5605
Fax: 801-625-5359
Email: mary.farnsworth@usda.gov
Website: www.fs.usda.gov/r4

Research Lead

Dr. Cynthia West

USDA Forest Service Forest Products Laboratory 
Director, Forest Products Laboratory and Northern Research Station

1 Gifford Pinchot Drive 
Madison, WI 53726
Phone: 608-231-9320
Email: Cynthia.west@usda.gov
Website: www.fpl.fs.fed.us/

State & Private Forestry Lead

Chad Davis

USDA Forest Service Alaska & Pacific Northwest Region
Director, State & Private Forestry

1220 SW 3rd Avenue
Portland, OR 97204
Phone: 503-602-2130
Email: chad.davis2@usda.gov
Website: https://www.fs.usda.gov/r10
https://www.fs.usda.gov/r6