Member Directory

Member Directory

The membership of the Western Forestry Leadership Coalition is comprised of state and territorial forester members of the Council of Western State Foresters (CWSF), as well as representation from the USDA Forest Service.

WFLC members include:

  • 23 CWSF members
    • 17 Western State Foresters
    • 6 foresters from U.S.-Affiliated Pacific Islands
       
  • 11 individuals from the Western Forest Service leadership
    • 7 Regional Foresters
    • 3 Station Directors
    • 1 Forest Products Laboratory Director 

The western State & Private Forestry Directors also participate in WFLC meetings and conversations and are listed here for reference. 

Council of Western State Foresters

Alaska

Chris Maisch

Alaska Division of Forestry
State Forester and Director

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1450
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-8400
Fax: 907-269-8901
Email: chris.maisch@alaska.gov
Website: www.dnr.state.ak.us/forestry

Arizona

David Tenney

Arizona Department of Forestry & Fire Management
State Forester

1110 West Washington Street, Suite 100
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: 602-771-1400
Fax: 602-771-1421
Email: dtenney@dffm.az.gov
Website: https://forestryandfire.az.gov/

California

Thomas W. Porter

California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection
CAL FIRE Director

PO Box 244246
Sacramento, CA 94244-2460
Phone: 916-653-7772
Fax: 916-653-4171
Email: thomas.porter@fire.ca.gov
Website: www.fire.ca.gov 

Colorado

Mike Lester

Colorado State Forest Service
State Forester and Director

Colorado State University
5060 Campus Box Delivery, Building #1050
Fort Collins, CO 80523-5060
Phone: 970-491-6303
Fax: 970-491-7736
Email: mike.lester@colostate.edu
Website: csfs.colostate.edu

Hawai‘i

David Smith

Hawai‘i Dept. of Land and Natural Resources
Forestry and Wildlife Administrator

1151 Punchbowl Street, Room 325
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: 808-587-0166
Fax: 808-587-0160
Email: david.g.smith@hawaii.gov 
Website: www.dofaw.net

Idaho

Craig Foss

Idaho Department of Lands
State Forester

3284 West Industrial Loop
Coeur d’Alene, ID 83815
Phone: 208-666-8640
Fax: 208-769-1524
Email: cfoss@idl.idaho.gov
Website: www.idl.idaho.gov/forestry

Kansas

Jason Hartman

Kansas Forest Service
State Forester

2610 Claflin Road
Manhattan, KS 66502
Phone: 785-532-3309
Email: hartmanj@ksu.edu
Website: www.kansasforests.org 
 

Montana

Sonya Germann

Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation
Forestry Division Administrator

2705 Spurgin Road
Missoula, MT 59804
Phone: 406-542-4306
Fax: 406-542-4269
Email: sgermann@mt.gov
Website: dnrc.mt.gov/divisions/forestry 

Nebraska

John Erixson

Nebraska Forest Service
Director

102E Forestry Hall
Lincoln, NE 68583-0815
Phone: 402-472-6601
Fax: 402-472-2964
Email: jerixson2@unl.edu
Website: www.nfs.unl.edu

Nevada

Kacey KC

Nevada Division of Forestry
State Forester and Fire Warden

2478 Fairview Drive
Carson City, NV 89701
Phone: 775-684-2501
Fax: 775-684-2570
Email: kaceykc@forestry.nv.gov
Website: forestry.nv.gov

New Mexico

Laura McCarthy

New Mexico State Forestry
State Forester

1220 South St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone: 505-476-3331
Email: Laura.McCarthy@state.nm.us
Website: http://www.emnrd.state.nm.us/SFD/

North Dakota

Tom Claeys

North Dakota Forest Service
State Forester

916 E Interstate Ave, Ste #4
Bismarck, ND 58503-1227
Phone: 701-328-9945
Fax: 701-328-9947
Email: thomas.claeys@ndsu.edu
Website: www.ndsu.edu/ndfs

Oregon

Peter Daugherty

Oregon Department of Forestry
State Forester

2600 State Street
Salem, OR 97310
Phone: 503-945-7211
Fax: 503-945-7212
Email: Peter.daugherty@oregon.gov
Website: www.oregon.gov/ODF

South Dakota

Greg Josten

South Dakota Department of Agriculture - Conservation & Forestry
State Forester

3305 W. South Street
Rapid City, SD  57702
Phone: 605-394-2395
Fax: 605-394-2549
Email: SDRCF@state.sd.us
Website: sdda.sd.gov/conservation-forestry

Utah

Brian Cottam

Division of Forestry, Fire and State Lands

Department of Natural Resources
State Forester and Director

1594 W. North Temple, Suite 3520
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-5703
Phone: 801-538-5555
Fax: 801-533-4111
Email: briancottam@utah.gov
Website: www.ffsl.utah.gov 

Washington

George Geissler

Washington Department of Natural Resources
State Forester | Deputy Supervisor Wildfire and Forest Health

1111 Washington St SE
MS 47001
Olympia, WA 98504
Phone: 360-902-1684
Email: george.geissler@dnr.wa.gov
Website: https://www.dnr.wa.gov/

Wyoming

Bill Crapser

Wyoming State Forestry Division
State Forester

5500 Bishop Boulevard
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: 307-777-7586
Fax: 307-777-5986
Email: bill.crapser@wyo.gov
Website: wsfd.wyo.gov

Territory of American Samoa

Denis Sene Jr.

American Samoa Community College- Agriculture, Community and Natural Resources Division- Forestry Program
Territorial Forester

PO Box 5319 ASCC / AHNR
Pago Pago, American Samoa 96799
Phone: 684-699-1575 ext. 249
Fax: 011-684-699-5011
Email: d.sene@amsamoa.edu

Republic of Palau

Pua Michael

Bureau of Agriculture, Ministry of Natural Resources, Environment and Tourism
Head of Forestry

P.O. Box 460
Koror, PW 96940
Phone: 011-680-544-5804
Fax: 011-680-544-5090
Email: palauforestry@palaunet.com

Federated States of Micronesia

Marlyter Silbanuz

Agriculture and Forestry Unit FSM
Program Manager

PO Box PS-12
Palikir Pohnpei, FSM 96941
Phone: 011-691-320-5133
Fax: 691-320-5854
Email: msilbanuz@fsmrd.fm 

Territory of Guam

Christine Fejeran

Guam Department of Agriculture- Forestry and Soil Resources Division
State Forester

163 Dairy Road
Mangilao, Guam 96923
Email: Christine.Fejeran@doag.guam.gov 
Website: www.forestry.guam.gov

Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands

Frank Ada

Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands Forestry
Department of Lands and Natural Resources
CNMI Acting Forestry Point of Contact

Caller Box 10007
Saipan, MP 96950
Phone: 670-256-3321
Email: frankadacnmiforestry@gmail.com
Website: www.cnmiforestry.webs.com

Republic of the Marshall Islands

Lajkit Rufus

Ministry of Resources & Development
State Forester

Coconut Street (PO Box 1727)
Majuro, Republic of the Marshall Islands 96960
Phone: (692) 625-3206/4020
Fax: (692) 625-7471
Email: lrufus@hawaii.edu

USDA Forest Service

Northern Region

Leanne Marten

USDA Forest Service Northern Region
Regional Forester

26 Fort Missoula Road
Missoula, MT 59804
Phone: 406-329-3315
Fax: 406-329-3411
Email: leanne.marten@usda.gov
Website: https://www.fs.usda.gov/r1

Rocky Mountain Region

Tricia O'Connor

USDA Forest Service Rocky Mountain Region
Acting Regional Forester

1617 Cole Blvd.
Lakewood, CO 80401
Email: patricia.oconnor@usda.gov
Website: www.fs.usda.gov/r2

Southwestern Region

Sandy Watts

USDA Forest Service Southwestern Region
Acting Regional Forester

333 Broadway SE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone: 505-842-3307 
Fax: 505-842-3110
Email: sandra.watts@usda.gov
Website: www.fs.usda.gov/r3

Intermountain Region

Frank Beum

USDA Forest Service Intermountain Region
Acting Regional Forester

324 25th Street
Ogden, UT 84401
Phone: 202-205-0824
Fax: 801-625-5359
Email: frank.beum@usda.gov
Website: www.fs.usda.gov/r4

Pacific Southwest Region

Randy Moore

USDA Forest Service Pacific Southwest Region
Regional Forester

1323 Club Drive
Vallejo, CA 94592
Phone: 707-562-9000
Fax: 707-562-9091
Email: randy.moore@usda.gov
Website: www.fs.usda.gov/r5

Pacific Northwest Region

Glenn Casamassa

USDA Forest Service Pacific Northwest Region
Regional Forester

1220 SW Third Ave
Portland, OR 97204-3440
Phone: 503-808-2200
Fax: 503-808-2210
Email: glenn.casamassa@usda.gov
Website: www.fs.usda.gov/r6

Alaska Region

Dave Schmid

USDA Forest Service Alaska Region
Regional Forester

709 West 9th Street
Juneau, AK 99802-1628
Phone: 907-586-8775 
Fax: 907-586-7840
Email: david.schmid@usda.gov
Website: www.fs.usda.gov/r10

Pacific Northwest Research Station

Paul Anderson

USDA Forest Service Pacific Northwest Research Station
​Acting Station Director

1220 S.W. Third Ave. Suite 1400
Portland, OR 97204
Phone: 503-808-2104
Fax: 503-808-2130
Email: paul.adanderson@usda.gov
Website: www.fs.usda.gov/pnw/ 

Pacific Southwest Research Station

Richard Barhydt

USDA Forest Service Pacific Southwest Research Station
Station Director

1731 Research Park Dr.
Davis, CA 95618
Phone: 530-759-1700
Fax: 510-559-6441
Email: richard.barhydt@usda.gov
Website: www.fs.fed.us/psw/

Rocky Mountain Research Station

Monica Lear

USDA Forest Service Rocky Mountain Research Station
Station Director

240 West Prospect Avenue
Fort Collins, CO 80526
Phone: 970-498-1353
Fax: 970-498-1010
Email: monica.lear@usda.gov
Website: www.fs.usda.gov/rmrs/

Forest Products Laboratory

Tony Ferguson

USDA Forest Service Forest Products Laboratory 
​Director, Forest Products Laboratory and Northern Research Station

11 Campus Boulevard, Suite 200
Newtown Square, PA 19073
Phone: 610-557-4017
Email: tony.l.ferguson@usda.gov
Website: www.fpl.fs.fed.us/

USDA Forest Service S&PF Directors

Northern and Intermountain Region

Tim Garcia

USDA Forest Service Northern and Intermountain Region
State and Private Forestry Director

26 Fort Missoula Road
Missoula, MT 59804
Phone: 406-329-3250
Email: timothy.p.garcia@usda.gov
Website: https://www.fs.usda.gov/r4

Rocky Mountain Region

Sylvia Bierman

USDA Forest Service Rocky Mountain Region
Acting Director, State and Private Forestry and Tribal Relations

1617 Cole Blvd. Bldg 17 
Lakewood, CO 80401
Phone: 303-275-5750
Email: sylvia.bierman@usda.gov
Website: https://www.fs.usda.gov/r2

Southwestern Region

Cliff Dils

USDA Forest Service Southwestern Region
Director, Forest Management, Forest Health, Cooperative Forestry & International Forestry

333 Broadway Blvd., SE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone: 505-842-3242
Email: clifford.dils@usda.gov
Website: https://www.fs.usda.gov/r3

Pacific Southwest Region

Sherry Hazelhurst

USDA Forest Service Pacific Southwest Region
Director, State & Private Forestry

1323 Club Drive
Vallejo, CA 94592
Phone: 707-562-8920
Email: sherry.hazelhurst@usda.gov
Website: https://www.fs.usda.gov/r5

Alaska Region and Pacific Northwest Region

Michael Shephard

USDA Forest Service Alaska & Pacific Northwest Region
Acting Director, State & Private Forestry

161 E. 1st Ave., Door 8
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-743-9451
Email: mshephard@fs.fed.us
Website: https://www.fs.usda.gov/r10
https://www.fs.usda.gov/r6