Pacific Islands Forestry Committee

Pacific Islands Forestry Committee

The Pacific Islands Forestry Committee (PIFC) is comprised of forestry leaders from the U.S.-Affiliated Pacific Islands, including:

  • Territory of American Samoa
  • Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Territory of Guam 
  • State of Hawaii 
  • Republic of Marshall Islands
  • Republic of Palau

The USDA Forest Service’s Institute of Pacific Islands Forestry and the Pacific Southwest Region Five are also members of the PIFC.  

The mission of the Pacific Islands Forestry Committee is to aid the Western Forestry Leadership Coalition and the Council of Western State Foresters in developing an informed and unified approach to the needs of the tropical forests of the U.S.-affiliated Pacific islands.  

The PIFC advocates for natural resource issues and forestry managers’ needs as they relate to the management of their tropical forests. Additionally, the PIFC provides a forum for technology transfer, training, and cultural information exchange related to the unique forest management challenges of the region. 

To contact a member of the PIFC, please visit the directory